Banner Silouet The Steading Cottage
Our Home pageour cottagegalleryactivitiescontact usTariff PageCustomer reviews
 
Customer Reviews
The reviews below are copied directly from the Cottages Direct Website.
 

Awesome
Date of stay: March 2016
I can't fault this cottage, very luxurious lacks nothing, and the owners are wonderful. Well situated to most things, we would happily stay again

Review by: Mrs Sharon Tilbee

 

Perfect get away
Date of stay: October 2015
Can't praise the cottage highly enough. For our needs it was just perfect and offered such welcoming and cosy accommodation and all to the highest standards. John and Ruby were great hosts, and could not do enough to help us. Thanks again for making our Scottish break such a wonderful experience. We hope to see you again at Easter time.

Review by: Andy and Karen Daykin

 

October holiday
Date of stay: October 2015
Very well equiped and comfortable cottage Excellent communication from John before and during our stay
Easy access to beach few miles away - you need to take x 2 pound coins for parking, but well worth the charge Excellent linens and towels provided The garden is also lovely although we were not able to sit in it due to busy week and some rain ! Thank you for goodies to welcome us

Review by: Mark and Isobel Warren

 

Perfect location and fantastic accommodation
Date of stay: October 2015
Just home from the steadings cottage Lechars, and would like to thankJohn for going above and beyond!! Three generations were well catered for, so can recommend for all ages. Situated perfectly to be as relaxing or as active as you please.The cottage is first rate,immaculately clean extremely comfortable, very tastefully appointed cosy and also practical.Did I mention the beds? Ahhh perfect! We were very lucky with the weather but with digs like this who cares, so thanks again guys.Bruce & co

Review by: bruce and carol

 

Super friendly cottage
Date of stay: September 2015
We have just spent a wonderful week at this beautiful cottage.the 29 previous reviews were spot on.john was very friendly and helpful.the welcome pack waiting for us was very welcome.paddy and murphy enjoyed the chew sticks.the enclosed garden was ideal for our dogs.we have been using holiday cottages for 22 years and this is one of the best we have stayed in.tensmuir forest and beach is well worth a visit.
ken and sue and paddy and murphy
Stockton on tees.

Review by: kenneth marr

 

Return visit just as good
Date of stay: September 2015
Just got home from a lovely week at the steadings. This really is a delightful cottage, the owners are very hospitable - even a pack of dog chews there for our dog. The cottage was spotlessly clean upon arrival & is very comfortable, the garden is beautiful & secure so ideal for dogs. This was our 2nd visit & im sure it wont be long before we go back.

Review by: dawn & brian sunderland

 

Awesome Holiday
Date of stay: August 2015
Thank you John and Ruby for the perfect week in Scotland. Lovely location, still cant get over finding a forest right beside a beach!! The accommodation was amazing we loved it! everything we needed to enjoy and relax Also a big thanks for the welcoming gifts

Review by: Nicky and Rob badham

 

First Class accommodation
Date of stay: August 2015
This is a beautifully clean and welcoming cottage, our two dogs loved the garden which are totally secure and perfectly maintained. The owner John is really friendly and helpful and we really appreciated the wine, shortbread, and newspaper, Molly and Leo loved the dog chews. We will be recommending this cottage to family and friends and hope to return in the very near future.

Review by: Robert and Janice Brown

 

Fantastic Cottage
Date of stay: July 2015
My mum regularly stays at the cottage as it has everything to offer. Beautiful accommodation (which is spotless) and idyllic, safe enclosed garden, which is perfect for families and pets. Had a fantastic one week relaxing stay. John and Ruby couldn't be any more helpful or accommodating. Highly recommend this cottage. Thank you!

Review by: Sinclair & Stevenson family

 

Relaxing break in lovely location
Date of stay: June 2015
Our stay was comfortable and relaxing. The accommodation was perfect, spotlessly clean with many thoughtful touches - especially the wine and treats for our dogs. Maisie and Max our 2 terriers loved the beautifully maintained gardens especially great as totally secure. The owners were extremely welcoming and helpful. This was our first visit to Scotland, I feel sure we will be back.

Review by: Carol and David

 

Wonderful cottage
Date of stay: May 2015
Very warm and inviting. John was very helpful and hospitable. The cottage has excellent facilities of a high standard. Everything there that was needed for a very comfortable stay. The beautiful garden is fully enclosed and very dog friendly. We could recommend the beach accessed via the Tentsmuir Forest as well as the beaches of St Andrews. a great week enjoyed by all.

Review by: Jan Coates & Ross Verrill

 

Perfect location as a base to tour Scotland
Date of stay: May 2015
Had a fantastic 2 weeks at The Steadings and can't talk highly enough about the experience. John was most helpful and the house has everything you would want, and of the highest quality. Hope to return in the future.

Review by: Trena Farquharson

 

Wonderful Cottage
Date of stay: May 2015
Very warm and inviting. John was very helpful and hospitable. The cottage has excellent facilities of a high standard. Everything there that was needed for a very comfortable stay. The beautiful garden is fully enclosed and very dog friendly. We could recommend the beach accessed via the Tentsmuir Forest as well as the beaches of St Andrews. a great week enjoyed by all.

Review by: Jan Coates & Ross Verrill

 

Relaxing break in lovely location
Date of stay: June 2015
Our stay was comfortable and relaxing. The accommodation was perfect, spotlessly clean with many thoughtful touches - especially the wine and treats for our dogs. Maisie and Max our 2 terriers loved the beautifully maintained gardens especially great as totally secure. The owners were extremely welcoming and helpful. This was our first visit to Scotland, I feel sure we will be back.

Review by: Carol and David

 

Fab Place
Date of stay: August 2014
We have had a fantastic holiday. The cottage is 5*, great beaches not far away and great spot to get to lots of places. John and his wife couldn't have been more helpful. Our 2 dogs loved it too. Lovely wildlife in the garden. Our daughter(6) loved having a 'big bed'. Will definately return to Scotland and the Steadings is highly recommended for a great relaxing holiday.

Review by: The Gillespie Family

 

Outstanding
Date of stay: August 2014
We had a fantastic holiday, the cottage is superb and we had a nice welcome & tour from John. The cottage has everything needed for a self catering holiday we all enjoyed it. The bonus for the kids was the free wifi, a tv each and a garden. Thank you both for the welcome gift of wine ,milk and sweets for the girls. Perfect area for visting both Dundee & St Andrews and great beaches. Holiday booked for next year, we recommend to all.

Review by: Sheila, Scott, Kirsty & Emma

 

Lovely & Relaxing, definitely what a holiday is all about...
Date of stay: July 2014
Thank you to John & Ruby for making our stay so comfortable. Cottage was immaculate, could not have stayed anywhere cleaner....fab location and beautiful surroundings. Will definitely book again - thanks again on behalf of the whole family & pumpkin xx

Review by: Jo, Steve, Ron & Moyra Turner-Prosser

 

A Great Cottage
Date of stay: July 2014
Having spent a week in this property, it would be hard to find another cottage better than the Steadings, from the friendly welcome & guided tour on arrival by John explaining the workings of the appliances, to the welcome pack of biscuits, wine & milk & a first for me a newspaper. The cottage & the great garden is a credit to Ruby & Johns diligence. I would recommend this cottage to anyone.


Review by: Mr Nigel Hindle

 

Fabulous Cottage Highly Recommended
Date of stay: May 2014
Beautifully maintained cottage in a quiet position in the village of Leuchars opposite the old church. Lovely enclosed garden ideal for dogs with plenty of walks nearby. The cottage has everything you could need for a self catering holiday and all furnishings are to a very high standard. Warm welcome from very helpful owners with nice touches such as bottle of wine ,milk and biscuits for the dogs! Thanks John for an excellent holiday.


Review by: Bob and Sue Cheetham

 

Our Perfect Holiday.
Date of stay: April 2014
We have just returned from a fabulous week's holiday at The Steadings and cannot recommend this property highly enough. From the moment we walked in and with all the little extras it was a huge success. As a family we enjoyed a fantastic property to stay in with a brilliant location. Warm, cosy, extremely comfortable & clean, lovely private garden all in all just a perfect cottage to relax and enjoy time with your loved ones. John and Ruby very helpful and caring. Also perfect for our dog Jess


Review by: Mrs M Walsh

 

Fantastic Cottage and Great Owners.
Date of stay: November 2013

We stayed in November, cottage lovely and warm when we arrived.
We are return guests and had another fantastic holiday. The cottage is well equipped and had everything you need.  A home from home. The cottage is well positioned for lots of walks with the dog and visiting the local attractions.
Thanks to both John and Ruby for the extra touches.
We would highly recommend the cottage to anyone.

Review by: Sharon, Graham and Bailey

 

Thoroughly  Enjoyable.
Date of stay: July 2013.
Cannot praise your holiday cottage high enough. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Great place for relaxing , with all mod cons. Kids loved it, and your walled garden was lovely. All in all can't praise you high enough. Many thanks for a really nice time.


Hugh and Anne McLernon.

 

A Perfect Holiday Retreat.
Date of stay: June 2013
The cottage is well positioned in a quiet area of the village. the accommodation is first class with everything you need on site. John and Ruby are very friendly and welcoming hosts. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the bed was very comfortable, The enclosed garden is well kept and is a safe place for children. This was a very pleasant place and is an ideal location to make a base for visiting Fife, Perthshire and Tayside. You will have a memorable time here.


Review by: Neil Gilbert

 

A wonderful place to stay.
Date of stay: June 2013
Reaching the end of our fabulous week here at The Steading.  A great cottage, extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated with a gorgeous garden to enjoy the sunshine in. The cottage has everything you need, is very spacious and has the most comfortable beds ever. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, can't recommend it highly enough.
Review by: Bob and Debbie

Perfect relaxing dog friendly accommodation.
Date of stay: June 2013
Just returned from our 1st visit to Scotland. John and Ruby were the perfect hosts from our welcome on arrival to also helping to make our week a fantastic experience whilst there. The cottage is in an ideal location with St Andrews only 10 minutes away with all the excellent pubs restaurants and golf courses, also ideal for venturing further down the coast to quaint fishing villages of Crail, Anstuther etc, also heading North to Dundee, Arbroath and beyond. The cottage was very well presented and had everything we could need for our stay.   


Review by: Steve, Sarah and Bella

Great Cottage, great area & with every facility you could want.
Date of stay: July 2012
The cottage is even better than it looks in the photos, spotless, very comfortable & everything you could hope for - especially a dishwasher. A beautiful, safely enclosed garden, excellent for young kids.
John is a great host, very cooperative, helpful & unobtrusive before during & after our visit.
This is a great location from which to visit Angus & the beautiful Fife coast with all the region's events & festivals.
We had a wonderful week & I highly recommend this cottage.
Many thanks.


Review by: The Brierley / Reid family

Superb
Date of stay: June 2012
Have just returned from another superb week in the cottage. Have now stayed 7 times & have rebooked for September.
The cottage has a lovely relaxing feel & has never disappointed. Cottage & garden are stunning & always spotless.  Always receive a warm friendly welcome.  Destination ideal for exploring or just enjoying a leisurely stroll along one of the many stunning beaches or coastal villages.  Can't recommend The Steading highly enough. Look forward to my next visit. Oh & the dog loves it is as well.


Review by: Jillian, Anne & Kiera

Lovely pet friendly cottage
Date of stay: September 2012
Lovely comfortable cottage, owners live attached and made us and our dog very welcome. Garden is lovely and really secure for a dog. Not much going on in Leuchars but plenty of nice places nearby, fantastic beach at Tentsmuir, which is only a couple of miles drive from the cottage. Would definitely recommend.


Review by: Dawn & Brian Sunderland

Fantastic Accommodation and Perfect Location
Date of stay: May 2012
My mum, Bailey the dog and I spent 5 superb days at The Steading.  The cottage felt like a home from home and Bailey loved the gorgeous garden. It was a perfect location in which to explore the St Andrews area. We found lots of great walks for both humans and dogs.
We would thoroughly recommend The Steading and will definitely be back . Thanks John


Review by: Sharon, Janet and Bailey the dog

Perfect Cottage for a Holiday
Date of stay: May 2012
We stayed for two nights in May as a group of 6 for a small birthday celebration. Firstly, let me say that the cottage was excellent. It was a nice size and 6 of us stayed there for two days without it feeling overcrowded. The cottage had everything you could ask for and it was well situated to explore the surrounding areas as well. We had a wonderful, relaxing weekend and I would definitely like to go back at some point in the future. I highly recommend this property. Thanks for the short stay!


Review by: Derek and Kirsty

Fantastic Cottage
Date of stay: March 2012
Just returned from a lovely stay at the Steading and booked again before we left. The cottage is far more spacious than it appears in the photos on the website. We were delighted with our stay and the owners were on hand if we required any help. The cottage is immaculate and has everything you could want in a holiday cottage. We took our dogs with us and garden is safe and secure.
The Steading is opposite a 12th Century Church and the village has excellent takeaways and a local spar for everything you might need.


Review by: The Readman Family

Our stay was perfect we have already booked for next year.
Date of stay: August 2011
Really enjoyed our stay. The garden area with, BBQ and gazebo are amazing. The furniture was extremely comfortable for a change, especially the beds, never slept better. The cottage was beautiful and immaculately presented. It is extremely well kilted with everything we needed; Ruby and John put out a welcome pack to get us started and even put in a packet of doggy treats for Peanut our Jack Russell. They say they have a lot of return guests, I'm not surprised.  Will be returning next year.

Review by: Mr G B Baldo

Very Relaxing Holiday in a home from home.
Date of stay: July 2011
Really enjoyed our week at John and Ruby's Steading, the garden is lovely as is the Steading itself. It was great to go self catering and have comfy sofas and beds instead of the usual sunken ones. Granny especially liked the big armchair. Our dog Maisie didn't want to come home. Ruby was even nice enough to do some washing for us too, thanks ruby. Having a teenager with us, the TV's in the bedrooms were great if she got fed up with the oldies company. We will be back in future, loved it.


Review by: The Chandler Family

Perfect and Exceeded Expectations!!
Date of stay: June 2011

We stayed for 1 week in June and the cottage was excellent. From arriving and being greeted by John and Ruby we were made to feel welcome. The cottage was immaculate, well presented and beautiful. The garden was amazing and the newly finished gazebo an extra bonus. Weather great also which made it even better. Perfect location for us to visit our family in Dundee, visit St Andrews and enjoy the local beaches with the dogs who were equally made welcome. Thank you for a great break. Highly recommend.


Review by: Mark and Michael